My daughter’s birthday cigars

20121001-232315.jpg

My daughter’s birthday is this week!!!! Man, does time really fly…

Earlier this year, I reviewed a 2000 Montecristo Robusto from the Millennium jar that I was saving to smoke and celebrate on a special occasion/milestone that occurred in her life. In the review, I mentioned that I wish I was into cigars when she was born as I would have really loved to have a ‘Birthday’ cigar to smoke on her birthday with either her birth month and/or birth year.

A great BOTL reached out to me and offered some cigars from her birth year. I was floored at his generosity as I wasn’t expecting him to send a full box of cigars. He sent me a box of 2000 Partagas Seleccion Privada No. 1s. I still remember showing my daughter the box code (yes, she knows how to read box codes 🙂 ) and her smile when she saw it.

Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos
Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos
Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos

The box code is OSU AGO 00. I plan to smoke one of these on her birthday. Thank you Derrek. You are a true gentleman and an amazing BOTL. I am truly blessed and overwhelmed by your generosity.

Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos

Over the summer, another BOTL was selling a few boxes of cigars and asked if I was interested. I took a look through the boxes. As luck would have it, I found a box of Rafael Gonzalez Corona Extras with the box code was RES OCT 00.

I quickly bought this box right on the spot. I finally found a box with her birth month and year on it. My friend smiled, as he knew the significance of the box code and was aware that I have been looking for this for awhile. Thank you Martin. I am truly honoured to have you as a friend and a mentor.

Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos
Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos
Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos

I showed my daughter this evening the boxes and cigars and re told her the story behind them. She smiled. She didn’t know about the review and asked me if she could read it. I said ‘of course’ and showed it to her. She read the review and she smiled again, walked over, gave me a big hug and kiss, told me she loved me and that I have great friends who made this happen.

She asked me to say thank you to both of you and that she was happy that her daddy can now smoke a cigar on her birthday from her birthyear. I have to say that I had to wipe away some tears during that moment.

It always amazes me that a bunch of fermented leaves has really provided me the opportunity to meet and interact with such great people. Thank you Brothers. You made this dad very happy this evening. I will smoke these with pride and in your honour.

This entry was posted in Partagas, Rafael Gonzalez. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment